The McGowan Trilogy: Three Inter-Related One Act Plays (Paperback)

The McGowan Trilogy: Three Inter-Related One Act Plays Cover Image
List Price: $19.95
Our Price: $12.00
(Save: $7.95 40%)
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Oct 16 5:15pm


Three Irish Plays on Stage in New York

Galway author Seamus Scanlon presents 3 new inter-related plays, based around the central character of Victor, and a new short story.

A series of one-act plays by Seamus Scanlon, The McGowan Trilogy tells of the cold-blooded, warm-hearted and overall conflicted Irish revolutionary Victor McGowan. In Dancing at Lunacy, McGowan ignores court martial protocol. In The Long Wet Grass, he is forced to choose between his commitment to the cause and a woman who was his childhood companion. In Boys Swam Before Me, McGowan faces painful revelations from his past.

"The McGowan Trilogy: 3 inter-related one act plays wowed sold out audiences in New York, at the cell Theatre, w 23rd street."

"Many have written about the situation in the North of Ireland - few with such gusto and attention to detailed violence as Seamus Scanlon. There are shades of Joe Orton and Martin McDonagh in these plays but Scanlon ploughs his own bloody uproarious furrow. Don’t look for innocence, but be prepared for the awful truth - when you step on a violent escalator there’s no telling if you’ll ever get off. You’ll laugh yourself silly but when you step out of the wonderful and aptly named Cell theatre, you’ll cast a number of backward glances as you seek the shadows of 23rd Street. One of Scanlon’s characters may be on your tail. Read these plays but even better go experience them at the cell."
— Larry Kirwan, Black 47
Product Details
ISBN: 9781851321117
ISBN-10: 185132111X
Publisher: Arlen House
Publication Date: March 15th, 2016
Pages: 96
Language: English