A View from the Bridge (Paperback)

A View from the Bridge Cover Image
Special Order


A classic work of American theatre, with a forward from Philip Seymour Hoffman.Winner of the 2016 Tony Awards for Best Revival of a Play and Best Direction of a Play: Ivo van Hove.
Set in the 1950s on the gritty Brooklyn waterfront, "A View from the Bridge" follows the cataclysmic downfall of Eddie Carbone, who spends his days as a hardworking longshoreman and his nights at home with his wife, Beatrice, and orphan niece, Catherine. But the routine of his life is interrupted when Beatrice's cousins, illegal immigrants from Italy, arrive in New York. As one of them embarks on a romance with Catherine, Eddie's envy and delusion plays out with devastating consequences.
This edition includes a forward by Philip Seymour Hoffman and an introduction by Arthur Miller.
For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust theseries to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-datetranslations by award-winning translators.

About the Author

Arthur Miller(1915 - 2005)was born in New York City and studied at the University of Michigan. His plays include"All My Sons"(1947), "Death of a Salesman"(1949), "The Crucible"(1953), "A View from the Bridge"and"A Memory of Two Mondays"(1955), "After the Fall"(1963), "Incident at Vichy"(1964), "The Price"(1968), "The Creation of the World and Other Business"(1972) and"The American Clock"(1980). He also wrote two novels, "Focus"(1945), and"The Misfits," which was filmed in 1960, and the text for"In Russia"(1969), "Chinese Encounters"(1979), and"In the Country"(1977), three books of photographs by his wife, Inge Morath. His later work included a memoir, "Timebends"(1987); the plays"The Ride Down Mt. Morgan"(1991), "The Last Yankee"(1993), "Broken Glass"(1994), and"Mr. Peter's Connections"(1999);"Echoes Down the Corridor: Collected Essays, 1944 2000"; and"On Politics and the Art of Acting"(2001). He twice won the New York Drama Critics Circle Award, and in 1949 he was awarded the Pulitzer Prize. Miller was the recipient of the National Book Foundation s 2001 Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters, the Prince of Asturias Award for Letters in 2002, and the Jerusalem Prize in 2003."
Product Details
ISBN: 9780141183503
Publisher: Penguin Books, Limited (UK)
Publication Date: December 1st, 2008